Main Menu

John E. Hopcroft

(Academician of the National Academy of Sciences, Academician of the National Academy of Engineering)

Professor (Cornell University)

Member of the National Academy of Sciences

Member of the National Academy of Engineering

Fellow IEEE





John E. Hopcroft is the IBM Professor of Engineering and Applied Mathematics in Computer Science at Cornell University. He received his BS (1961) from Seattle University and his M.S. (1962) and Ph.D. (1964) in electrical engineering from Stanford University.? His research centers on theoretical aspects of computer science.? He served as dean of Cornell University’s College of Engineering from 1994 until 2001.?? He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, of the National Academy of Engineering, and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, the Association of Computing Machinery, and the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics.? In 1986 he was awarded the A. M. Turing Award for his research contributions. In 1992, he was appointed by President George Bush to the National Science Board, which oversees the National Science Foundation, and served through May 1998.? He received the IEEE Harry Goode Memorial Award in 2005, the Computing Research Association’s Distinguished Service Award in 2007, the ACM Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award in 2009, the IEEE Von Neumann Medal in 2010, and the Friendship Gold Metal, China in 2016.? He has honorary degrees from Seattle University, the National College of Ireland, the University of Sydney, St Petersburg State University, Beijing University of Technology, HKUST and is an honorary professor of the Beijing Institute of Technology, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Chongqing University, and Yunnan University.? He serves on the Microsoft Technical Advisory Board for Research Asia, and the advisory boards of IIIT Delhi and Seattle University’s College of Engineering.? The Chinese Academy of Sciences has designated him as an Einstein professor.

XML 地图 | Sitemap 地图