Main Menu

CUHK-Shenzhen Prof. David Tse Elected as 2017 NAE Member

  • 2018.02.26
  • News
The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) elected 84 new members and 22 foreign members, featuring Prof. David Tse from SSE, CUHK-Shenzhen.

? ?

On February 7, 2018, The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) elected 84 new members and 22 foreign members, featuring Prof. David Tse from SSE, CUHK-Shenzhen.

Prof. David Tse


Founded in 1964, the US National Academy of Engineering is one of three major national academic institutions approved by the U.S. Congress (the other two are the National Academies of Sciences and the National Academy of Medicine). Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education." The academicians selected this year include many prominent individuals such as the CEO of Amazon.

? ? ? ? ?

Prof. David Tse received the B.A.Sc. degree in Systems Design Engineering from University of Waterloo in 1989, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1991 and 1994 respectively. From 1994 to 1995, he was a postdoctoral member of technical staff at A.T. & T. Bell Laboratories. From 1994 to 2014, he was on the faculty of the University of California at Berkeley. He is currently a professor at Stanford University and an outstanding adjunct professor at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Shenzhen Research Institute of Big Data (SRIBD). David Tse is the recipient of the 2017 Claude E. Shannon Award (known as the Nobel Prize in Information) and also the only Chinese ever to receive this award. Previously, he received a NSF CAREER award in 1998, the Erlang Prize from the INFORMS Applied Probability Society in 2000 and a Gilbreth Lectureship from the National Academy of Engineering in 2012. He received multiple best paper awards, including the Information Theory Society Paper Award in 2003, the IEEE Communications Society and Information Theory Society Joint Paper Awards in 2000, 2013 and 2015, the Signal Processing Society Best Paper Award in 2012 and the IEEE Communications Society Stephen O. Rice Prize in 2013. For his contributions to education, he received the Outstanding Teaching Award from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at U.C. Berkeley in 2008 and the Frederick Emmons Terman Award from the American Society for Engineering Education in 2009. He is a coauthor, with Pramod Viswanath, of the paper Fundamentals of Wireless Communication, which has been used in over 60 institutions around the world. He is the inventor of the proportional-fair scheduling algorithm used in all third and fourth-generation cellular systems.

XML 地图 | Sitemap 地图